Thu. Jun 8th, 2023

10th NASS: North-Central Govs Reject APC Zoning Formula

Spread the love

Governors from the North-central Nigeria have expressed their dissatisfaction over the zoning arrangement for the 10th National Assembly leadership as released by the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC.

As a result, the governors have scheduled a meeting with the President-elect, Bola Tinubu, and the chairman of the party, Abdullahi Adamu.

The APC has micro-zoned the position of the Senate President to Senator Godswill Akpabio and Senator Jibrin Baraus as Deputy Senate President while Honourable Tajudeen Abas is the anointed aspirant for the seat of the Speaker of the House of Representatives and Benjamin Kalu as Deputy Speaker.

The governors came up with the resolution after meeting with aspirants jostling for the NASS Presiding Offices from the Zone which held on Monday at the Banquet Hall, Presidential Villa Abuja.

The governors, in a release, said, “The North-central as a geopolitical zone is fully committed to supporting the incoming administration of the President-elect Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu for a better Nigeria, and will do everything possible to ensure the Renewed Hope agenda is actualised for the prosperity of all Nigerians.

“We reviewed the proposed zoning structure released and promised to reach out to the President-elect His Excellency Bola Ahmed Tinubu and APC National Working Committee to appeal for reconsideration of the zoning of the Presiding offices of the National Assembly as released by the NWC.

“We raised reservation about the zoning formula released with the allocation of the positions of the Deputy Senate President and the Speaker of the House of Representatives of the 10th National Assembly to a particular geopolitical zone of the country,” the governors posited.

Read Also: Court Stops Lauretta Onochie From Exercising Executive Powers At NDDC

They further resolved and agreed to fully utilise all necessary dialogue and consultations to resolve the NASS leadership issue by reaching out to all major stakeholders for an amicable and acceptable zoning framework that will be all-inclusive.

The North-central governors agreed with the aspirants’ positions and appealed to all Senators and Members-elect to continue to give Mr President-elect all the support needed for the smooth take-off of the 10th National Assembly, while also furthering consultations.

Some of the governors at the meeting were – Abubakar Bello, Governor Niger State who is also the chairman; Simon Lalong, Governor, Plateau State; Abdulrahman Abdulrazak, Governor, Kwara State and Abdullahi Sule, Governor, Nassarawa State.

Others were – Yahaya Bello of Kogi State and Rev. Fr Hyacinth Alia, Governor-elect, of Benue State.

The aspirants present were – Rt. Honourable, Idris Wase, Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives; Senator Sani Musa and Honourable Yusuf Gagdi

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: