< Hoodlums attack Tinubu's convoy in Lagos – Asphericnews
Sat. Jul 2nd, 2022

Hoodlums attack Tinubu’s convoy in Lagos

Spread the love

Hoodlums have reportedly attacked convoy of Bola Ahmed Tinubu the All Progressives Congress Presidential Candidate who returned to Lagos State 12 days after he won the ruling party’s ticket.

The hoodlums attacked a coaster bus that conveyed journalists.

The journalists were attacked while returning from the Palace of Oba of Lagos, Oba Riliwanu Akiolu, where they had gone to cover Tinubu’s visit to the monarch.

The journalists involved were said to be those attached to the Lagos State Governor’s office. It was learnt that two journalists were injured while their bus was vandalised.

Their attackers were said to have stoned the bus conveying the journalists while other weapons were also used to vandalised it.

Tinubu’s homecoming is coming exactly 12 days after he won the party’s ticket, flooring the likes of Vice President Yemi Osibanjo and former Minister of Transportation, Chibuike Amaechi; Senate President, Ahmed Lawan; Governor of Kogi State, Yahaya Bello, amongst others.

Tinubu had in the days following his emergence visited all the contenders for the exalted seat in a bid to solicit their support and build the APC’s unity.

Tinubu had earlier on Sunday when he landed in Lagos said it felt good to be back home. The former Lagos governor was welcomed by an excited crowd from the airport and he was seen waving at ecstatic supporters who hailed him.

The supporters who were waving brooms, which is an APC symbol, were chanting “Emilokan” as they followed his entourage.

Tinubu emerged winner with 1,271 votes to defeat his closest contenders, Rotimi Amaechi and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, two weeks ago.

Amaechi obtained 316 votes while Osinbajo polled 235.

Read Also: Amaechi Congratulates Tinubu, Pledges Commitment To Success In 2023

He contested against 13 other aspirants – Mr Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Mr Ahmed Rufai, Senator Rochas Okorocha, Mr Jack Rich, Governor Ben Ayade, Governor David Umahi, Senator Ahmed Yarima, Dr Ahmed Lawan, Osinbajo, Amaechi, Governor Yahaya Bello and Mr Ogbonnaya Onu.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: