Thu. May 23rd, 2024

Oyo Unity Cup ends in grand style as Ogo Oluwa Surelere Constituency Of Ogbomosho emerge champions

Spread the love

The pioneer Oyo Unity Cup which is the brainchild of the Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Mr. Sunday Dare, with the aim of discovering young talents in football for national and international exports, has ended with so many talking points as young footballers thrilled the fans with good football artistry at the Liberty Stadium in Oyo state.

Speaking at the event, the Minister thanked all who contributed to the success of the maiden event and said it signals more good things to come in Sports.

“It’s never too late, we have started and we will keep improving on Unity Cups across the Federation to ensure this goes across different states to enable us catch young talents. Some of the talents that were discovered are indeed skilful, I am impressed with what I have seen and this has spurred me to do more knowing that there are lots of talents undiscovered across the Federation.”

Fans were also thrilled to catch a glimpse of some of their favourite ex internationals. Leading the pack was Daniel Amokachi “The Bull” former Everton Football player accompanied by the the newly appointed assistant coach of the Super Eagles, Joseph Yobo, Mutiu Adepoju, the Nigerian LaLiga Ambassador and Former player of Real Sociedad in Spain and Ike Shorounmu former Super Eagles goal keeper wasn’t left out.

The fans were excited to have these football Legend gather in their town to be part of the finals of The Oyo Unity Cup.

It was Ogo Oluwa Surelere Constituency Of Ogbomosho who won the finals of the Oyo Unity Cup with 1-0 goal scored by Olalenkan Oyetunde who happened to be the best player of the tournament. The highest goal scorer of the tournament went to Friday Michael from Ogoluwa/Surelere Federal Constituency and the fair play award went to Ibadan North Federal Constituency. Best goal keeper of the tournament is no other person but Yusuf Adewale from Nigerian Union of Journalists team, with Oyetunde Olalenkan from Ogoluwa/Surelere Federal Constituency voted the most valuable player of the tournament.

Other Notable Dignitaries in attendance are: Festus Adegboye Onigbinde, former Super Eagles coach, Senator Abiola Ajimobi, former Governor of Oyo state and the FA Chairmen Of Ondo, Ogun and Oyo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.