Wed. Jun 19th, 2024

We need an environment that will attract investment’ Economic Advisory Council tells Buhari

Spread the love

The Economic Advisory Council has urged the Federal Government to provide an enabling environment that will enhance economic growth in the Nation. The Chairman of the Economic Advisory Council, Professor Doyin Salami, said this when Buhari received members of the 8-man committee of Thursday, in Abuja.

While sharing their views on borrowing, macroeconomic stability and the need to provide a friendly climate for foreign investment, with Government, Professor Salami said: “We need an environment that will attract investment. People will come only when they feel confident and when they come, their exit will not be challenging.” The Council further resolved to focus on legacy projects by the administration before 2023.

Responding, President Buhari commended the team for painstakingly reviewing issues relating to the Nation’s economy, adding that it was an act of Patriotism. The President said: “I am highly pleased based on what I have read in your Executive Summary with the painstaking thoroughness of your preliminary report. I have noted the salient points of your report and these will be incorporated in government economic policies.”
President noted that “the economy is the most delicate and sensitive of all aspects of national life. A little change in the matrix can lead to major disruptions in the national economy. For example, international changes in oil prices, bad harvests, conflicts in strategic global locations, a major epidemic or pandemic like the current Coronavirus, tariff changes in major world economies, to mention only a few examples that readily come to mind, can significantly affect our plans.”

While calling for the cooperation of all unit of Government in enhancing the growth of the Nation’s economy, Buhari said: “the lack of synergy between ministries, departments and agencies would no longer be accepted. We are working for the country, not for personal interests. We have the same objective of service to the people and we will resolve this.”

In addition to Prof. Salami, the Chairman, the Council is made up of Dr. Mohammed Sagagi, Vice-Chairman and Prof. Ode Ojowu as members.
Other members are Dr Shehu Yahaya, Dr Iyabo Masha, Prof. Chukwuma Soludo, Dr. Bismack Rewane and Dr. Mohammed Adaya Salisu.
The two ministers in the Ministry of Finance also serve as co-opted members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.