Wed. Jun 19th, 2024

CJN To Swear In 9 Justices For Appeal Court

Spread the love

Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, will Wednesday, September 20, swear in nine newly appointed justices of the Court of Appeal.

The new justices include:

  1. Hannatu Laja-Balogun from Kaduna State, who was appointed a High Court judge on May 24, 1999.
  2. Binta Zubairu also from Kaduna State and appointed a High Court Judge on October 31, 2001.
  3. Peter Obiora from Anambra State, who became a High Court judge on January 17, 2005.
  4. Okon Abang from Akwa Ibom State, appointed a High Court judge on June 22, 2009
  5. Asma’u Mainoma from the Federal Capital Territory, appointed High Court judge on February 1, 2013
  6. Lateef Ganiyu from Oyo State, became a High Court judge on June 26, 2014.
  7. Jane Iyang from Cross River State, who was sworn in as High Court judge on February 12, 2015.
  8. Hadiza Shagari from Sokoto State, who was elevated to the High Court Bench on February 12, 2015.
  9. Paul Bassi from Borno State, appointed to the High Court on July 14, 2017.

The swearing-in ceremony of the new appellate court justices slated for Wednesday would be held at the Main Court auditorium of the Supreme Court.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.