Tue. Jan 26th, 2021

AMPEC says Anyiam-Osigwe-led NEC is validly elected to lead association of movie producers

Spread the love

The Association of Movie Producers Electoral Committee (AMPEC) has
reconfirmed the validity of the Peace Anyiam-Osigwe-led National
Executive Committee (EXCO) of the Association of Movie Producers
(AMP), saying it was the only-legally recognized executives that were
elected at the national election that held in Asaba on August 29,

The Chair of AMPEC, Sunny Macdon W., in a statement in Abuja said the
clarifications became necessary in order to draw the attention of the
public to the activities of some individuals who “are parading
themselves as newly-elected national excos of the association.”

He said that while the association was aware of the development, it
was calling on the general public to disregard their claims, “as the
only legally-recognised executives are those that were voted for and
sworn in after the election in Asaba, Delta State.”

According to him, “We, therefore, extend our warm congratulations to
the winners on their success and encourage other contestants who were
not as lucky to support the winners in line with the undertaking (to
accept the outcomes of the exercise) signed in Lagos by all the
contestants on the 26th of August, 2020.”

The AMPEC chair said “it has become pertinent for us in AMPEC in the
light of the controversy surrounding the recently conducted
Association Of Movie Producers (AMP) elections on August 29, 2020, to
officially set the records straight concerning the polls and results

“The AMP national election took place as planned on Saturday, August
29, 2020, at Vienna International Hotel, Asaba, Delta.

“The event enjoyed robust participation with over 18 state chapters
and 170 members taking part in the process. The Chairman Board of
Trustees, Chief Zeb Ejiro, who kickstarted the election process and
the Outgoing President, Ralph Nwadike were also in attendance.

“The election was keenly contested by various candidates and after a
free, fair and peaceful process, the following results were announced
by AMPEC: President-Peace Anyiam Osigwe socred167 votes to emerge as
winner while Myrk Parish got 3 votes with 3 void votes; Vice
President-Queen Blessing 165 scored votes to emerge as winner while
Rose Okwoli got 4 votes while 4 votes were void.

“For the position of National Secretary, Ifeanyi Ezekwe scored 19
votes while Baba Agba garnered 149 votes to emerge as winner with 4
void votes; for the position of Financial Secretary, Ukeaja Chioma got
20 votes while Anthony Chukwuma scored 144 votes to emerge as winner.
9 votes were void.

“For the position of Publicity Secretary, Sam Obeakemeh got 30 votes
to lose to Nzeh Frank White who received 132 votes while 11 votes were
void; while for the position of Provost, Vitus Nnebue garnered156
votes to emerge as winner as against his opponent’s 9 votes while 6
votes were void.”

The AMPEC chair advised that abiding by the undertaking entered into
by the contestants ahead of the election to accept the outcomes of the
exercise was the only way to make AMP great again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.