Wed. Apr 24th, 2024

Bayelsa APC suspends Heineken Lokpobiri, Aganaba, 12 others

Spread the love

The All Progressive Congress (APC) has suspended an Ex-Minister of State for Agriculture and Rural Development, Heineken Lokpobiri and PRINCE (Engr) PREYE AGANABA, for alleged antiparty activities. Heineken Lokpobiri and Preye Aganaba, who contested the September 2019 Bayelsa APC governorship primary, are on the list of 14 members suspended by the Party.

Others also suspended are Warman Ogoriba, Orubebe Ogeibiri, C.T. Olorogun, Pius Otia, Osomkime Blankson, Samuel Aredeh, Ebierien Itubo, Peres Peretu, Sunday Frank-Oputu, Azikiwe Amasigha and Fortune Panebi.

In a statement by the APC Publicity Secretary in Bayelsa, Doifie Buokoribo, the suspension follows reports by a panel constituted in accordance with Article 21, Sub-section B and D of the APC constitution, 2014 (as amended). He also noted that the suspension was a warning to deviants in the party.
Buokoribo said, “The State Executive Committee of the party objectively looked into the several allegations of anti-party activities leveled against them that ran contrary to the provisions of the APC constitution, morally and good conscience, which brought about great electoral misfortune. The action is to send signal to deviants masquerading in the party, especially those working against its collective interest and aspirations.”

Lokpobiri and Aganaba lost to Lyon in the APC governorship primary. Lyon further won the Bayelsa Governorship election, but was sacked by the Supreme Court on the grounds that his deputy governor-elect, Biobarakuma Degi-Eremienyo presented forged certificates to the Independent National Electoral Commission.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.