Tue. Jul 23rd, 2024

Court Reinstates 8 Permanent Secretaries Sacked by Wike

Spread the love

A National Industrial Court sitting in Yenagoa, Bayelsa, has reinstated eight Permanent Secretaries, earlier sacked by Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike.

According to a report by the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), the Rivers government in 2015 sacked eight permanent secretaries, the state Head of Service and the Accountant General, among others. The Permanent secretaries are: Samuel Woka, Kadilo Brown, Augustine Orlu-Orlu, Muka Nwikosi, Minabelema Michael-West, Ngozi Abu, Kingsley Hart and Mrs Justina Jumbo.

Delivering judgement, Justice Basha Alkali, described the sacked as unconstitutional, null and void since it did not follow the set down procedures in the public service.

Justice Basha Alkali said: “The sack was in contravention of the civil service rules and therefore unlawful.

The court ordered that all salaries and allowances accrued to the permanent secretaries since 2015 be paid to them.

Applauding the judgement, counsel to the claimants, Odum Eyiba said: “The judgment is a product of industry, researched and well-considered. We instituted this action back in 2015.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.